I’ve Been Lazy

I haven’t exerted any sort of physical energy since Thursday of last week. I haven’t wanted to. Of course there is a good reason, I suppose. On the evening of the day mentioned, I took a hard shot during a sparring match. I attended a new boxing gym. My membership at my other one is coming to an end, and so I thought I would explore a few more. I worked out with the guys there. They were all good workouts. Perhaps they were a little too unorganized for my liking, or at least compared to what I am accustomed to. All in all, I would say I liked it but knew already I planned to pass on joining.

At any rate, I found myself in the ring with a slightly younger man, who was slightly bigger than me (which isn’t easy to find — me being 6’2″). He was also more experienced than me. Since we knew nothing about each other, we probably went a little harder than we should have. Not with the intention of hurting the other but with the intention to keep from getting hurt by the other. The coach should have recognized this but he either didn’t notice or didn’t care.

At any rate, the more punches thrown, the harder and faster they got. That’s when I took a hard one between the eyes and the bridge of my nose. I felt its force right before everything went black. And I fell asleep.

That’s what it literally felt like. Aside from getting my face bashed in, there was a weird, peaceful state I remember. Almost like I was floating in darkness. When I came to, which was only a matter of a few seconds later, I was staring down at a large puddle of blood. My nose was the source for the deluge.

The next morning it felt like I was suffering from a bad hangover and in a mental haze.  And the day after that. And the day after that. And the day after that. Today is the first day since then I have felt better. I’m sure I had a mild concussion.

I’ll ease back into my workouts. I’m thinking of working up a sweat after this post. It probably wouldn’t hurt for me to be a little lazy though. All the cardio and boxing has gotten me too skinny. Evidence from below. To tell you the truth, I feel like taking a whole month off and eat what I want, and be as lazy as I want. Put on about 10 pounds and start over.

But I won’t. I’ll go back to my old gym and renew my membership for another year. But I won’t be jumping into the ring with people I don’t know. And I certainly won’t be going to gyms that aren’t better organized.

Don’t worry, I won’t be doing any contact for a while.

pic

3 thoughts on “I’ve Been Lazy

    • I don’t know. It’s fun. It’s a great workout. Believe it or not, what happened usually doesn’t happen often. Most of the time two people can spar, talk to each other between rounds, and leave with very little pain.

      But you are right. I’ve been pretty stressed the last few days. I would like to continue. I love the competition but what would I be doing it for? To get better at it, you have to step up in competition and learn from these kind of things. But in order to learn you have to first experience them. I don’t know if I really care enough to experience that too many more times. There’s no point to it really. It bothers me though to have to come to this conclusion.

      I’m leaning towards getting out but I don’t want to get out just because I took a hard shot. Can you understand?

Leave a Reply

