Does Wine Taste Better On Friday Evenings?

It’s early evening but the sun has already burned out for the day. I got the fireplace on. It’s giving out nice warmth and a relaxing glow. Makes me even sleepier writing about it. My kids are chattering and teasing one another playfully, while my wife is uploading pictures she intends to send out to family and friends.

I’m over here on the couch sipping a glass of red wine. And it taste awesome. I like my red wine chilled. Some like it room temperature. Not me. There’s something about drinking wine on a Friday evening I find pleasing and relaxing. Maybe its because I know I can have two or three glasses and not worry about having to get up earlier than a rooster. Or maybe after a long week, I feel entitled having made it through another one of work and traffic. At any rate, a couple of glasses of red whine goes down pretty easy after being cooped up all week in places I don’t want to be. Doing things for people I don’t want to do. Spending all my time at some place just so I can make money to pay for all the crap I have.

I’ll tell you another reason why I prefer wine now days. If I drink beer, I’ll drink too much of it. If I drink bourbon or scotch, I’ll drink too much of them too. Wine on the other hand, it has a way of regulating itself. It’ll be good and refreshing and then all at once, you’ve had your fill. It’s not like that for me with anything else. While I’m not old by anyone’s standard, I’m old enough to pay dearly for a late night with a bottle.

I have a neighbor, poor guy; he drinks all day every day. He starts mixing his vodka a little after noon and doesn’t stop until he goes to bed around midnight. He’s a smart guy too, with a family. The problem is that he works from home. He has too much time on his hands and open access to his liquor cabinet without any consequences. Well there are consequences but not the kind you or I would have. Immediate, I guess I mean. I’ve talked to him about his problem. He agrees and admits that it is indeed a problem. However, he usually can’t remember that we talked about it when the subject comes up again.

Interesting … now that I think about it, it’s almost like the first time every time we hang out. Maybe that’s why I actually like his company.

Here is a list of some decent and affordable red wines. (After you scan over my amateurish selection, please visit Flora’s Table. They..uh are slightly more knowledgable than I am).

Louis Martini Sonoma Cabernet Sauvignon, $15
337 Lodi Cabernet Sauvignon, $14
Woodbridge Cabernet, $13 (currently sipping now and my personal favorite so that means you should try it).
Hawk Crest Cabernet, $12
Beringer Founder’s Estate Cabernet, $9

And if you feel like splurging:  Signorello Estate (2006) Cabernet Sauvignon, $35 to 50.

It looks like I like Cabernet a lot. Never really knew that about myself until now.

3 thoughts on “Does Wine Taste Better On Friday Evenings?

  1. Hi A.H.,
    First of all, many thanks for linking to our blog, and for following it: greatly appreciated.
    Second of all, was the pun in the header of this post (you know, whine/wine) intentional?
    Third of all, I really enjoyed reading it and… finding out what you like to drink! 🙂
    Take care

    • Oh boy, that was a complete error on my part. I never caught it until you mentioned. I managed to spell it correctly everywhere but the title! 🙂

      Y’alls site is amazing. My wife will be checking it out tomorrow. And you are very welcome for the link.

      Thanks for catching spelling error!

      Good night.

  2. Pingback: My Forgetful Neighbor « The Mind's Cabin

Leave a Reply

